Graduation from my Masters

Yesterday on October 13, 2012 convocation was held at Brock University. I received my degree of Master of Science in Mathematics. I also had the extreme honour and privilege of being the only graduate student selected by the Brock University Board of Trustees to be the recipient of the Spirit of Brock Medal. This award is given at Fall convocation two one undergraduate and one graduate student who best exemplify the Spirit of Sir Isaac Brock. It is awarded to an individual who exemplifies at least one of the qualities of Courage, Inspiration, Leadership, Community Involvement and Innovation.

I was at a celebratory dinner last night hosted by the President of Brock University, Jack Lightstone. My supervisor asked me “how I was feeling about it.” It was a long day and social events are very exhausting so I probably don’t remember exactly what I said. But this is the gist of it.

This is more than a little surreal for me. A little over six years ago, I decided to go back to school. I didn’t have high expectations. All I resolved to do was to go back to school and do my best. I figured if I did that and I failed out, I could hang my head high and say at least I gave it my all. That was my expectation. That was my hope that I could simply say I gave it my best and even if I spent the rest of my life sitting on a couch, I could hold on to that simple hope.

I never though I had the strength within me to do what I did. It really surprised me, because I was used to things not working at all and suddenly things started working really well for me. I’ll be honest. It was hard. It IS hard. Probably the hardest thing I have ever done and if you happen to have schizophrenia there are a good number of things that you have done that qualify as hard.

I am deeply honoured that the Brock University Board of Trustees see me as someone who exemplifies courage and inspiration and chose me to represent my graduating class of graduate students. However, as I said to my family and my supervisor last night, the real prize for me was not the medal but the simple knowledge of what I have accomplished and how far I have come and that I am so very luck to have so many wonderful and caring friends who believe in me on good days and bad.

But as I admitted to my family and supervisor last night, the medal is pretty cool too.

Many thanks to all who are with me on this amazing journey,

Neil Marshall

M.Sc. (Mathematics) Brock University ’12

About Neil

I happen to have paranoid schizophrenia. But that is only a small part of who I am. I define me, not my illness. I always try and choose hope and choose to be a better person, though like all people, I have more than a few failures. Some have been rather spectacular.
This entry was posted in Neil's Story, The Triumphs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Graduation from my Masters

  1. Percy L. Paul says:

    Hey congradulations! I wish I had a graduation thing somtimes. I remember just getting mine in the mail. Also it feels easier as it was in physics.
    p

  2. Percy L. Paul says:

    oops spelling:)

  3. SchizoTomasz says:

    Congrats Neil! I hope I can finish my degree as well.

  4. Congratulations. That is inspiring.

Leave a comment