The (Sometimes) Hidden Strength Behind People With Mental Illness

I saw this article in the Huffington Post a while ago and have been meaning to post it. Chelsea Stephens does a wonderful job at exposing stigma and documenting what I view is the (sometimes) hidden strength of people succeeding against mental illness.

This excerpt really spoke to me:

3. Everything they do takes extra effort: Getting out of bed? Extra effort. Making breakfast? Extra effort. Going to work? Extra effort. Once a mental illness is well-managed, these things become easier. But anyone who has endured a mental illness knows that especially on low days, it’s next to impossible to make yourself go through the motions. When you don’t care about yourself or are too exhausted to fight, doing things that for anyone else would be a normal part of the day becomes even more difficult. Building up the willpower to actually do these things takes strength.

If you don’t have a mental illness, be grateful. If you do, don’t give up on yourself. I’m speaking from personal experience when I say that as difficult as it is, fighting your mental illness is probably the most worthwhile battle you’ll go through in your life. It might not be a quick or easy fight, but there’s nothing more important than loving yourself and making sure you achieve the happiness you deserve.

Again, the whole article is good so the usual “Read the whole thing” applies. For me, I remember when getting out of bed was one of the hardest things I have ever done. I often explain to people who are trying to understand my illness and how we all can cope is that I am affected by everything that would affect you, just to a far greater degree. I had to become better at managing stress and disappointment and it still can be a struggle some days.

About Neil

I happen to have paranoid schizophrenia. But that is only a small part of who I am. I define me, not my illness. I always try and choose hope and choose to be a better person, though like all people, I have more than a few failures. Some have been rather spectacular.
This entry was posted in Stigma, Stories we need to share, The Triumphs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

