A nice article while I am otherwise occupied

Via the Sacramento Bee, this story about the challenges of mental health in Missouri is worth the read. Excerpt:

For three decades the 54-year-old Kansas City, Kan., woman has struggled with schizophrenia. The chronic mental illness twists how people think, feel and interact. It can spawn paranoia, delusions and auditory hallucinations. In extreme cases it can drive people to kill others, or themselves. Sometimes the voices urge Baynham to wrench the wheel and drive off the road.

“Do it!” they urge. “Do it now!”

Resisting wears her out.

Baynham, who is on medication, is the assistant director of SIDE Inc, a peer-run organization that serves the mentally ill in Wyandotte County, Kan. Recently she was elected president of the Kansas Consumer Advisory Council for Adult Mental Health. Still, she must remind herself daily that she is a worthwhile person.

She’d like others to think that, too – although she knows not everyone will.

Well worth it. I do apologize for my lack of posts as of late, however even when I have free time, I am more than a little tired of writing. Presentation is tomorrow so fingers are crossed.

About Neil

I happen to have paranoid schizophrenia. But that is only a small part of who I am. I define me, not my illness. I always try and choose hope and choose to be a better person, though like all people, I have more than a few failures. Some have been rather spectacular.
This entry was posted in Stories we need to share and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

