Back to work

So for the past week I had actually taken some time off from finishing my M.Sc. on the advice of my supervisor. I don’t relax well and usually am happiest when I am working on something. This has caused problems for me because I don’t always balance work and play well enough in my life. It was good to take a break and part of me wants to take more time off.

However, I have to finish my M.Sc. That includes getting ready for my presentation, finishing up my written report and of course working on a couple of other papers that are related to the research I have been conducting. It’s a tall order seeing as the month of August is almost half over.

I’m going to try not to violate my agreement with my supervisor to work less this week than I usually do. It’s tough because I don’t want to over exhaust myself but coming so close to finishing, I want to push myself over these final hurdles. I am aware that my tendency to push myself is both a curse and a blessing, and can sometimes be very detrimental to my health. Still, there’s a part of me that always feels I have to push because things for so long never came easily to me. I tried my hardest and failed for too long in my life and even when things finally started working again for me, I still had to keep at it every day. Finding a balance is tough particularly because keeping a routine is key to my stability.

I’ll see how my educational commitments interfere with my ability to blog. I can’t promise that this space will have much priority in the next couple of weeks. The vacation was good and it did help me. Now’s time to finish the job.

About Neil

I happen to have paranoid schizophrenia. But that is only a small part of who I am. I define me, not my illness. I always try and choose hope and choose to be a better person, though like all people, I have more than a few failures. Some have been rather spectacular.
This entry was posted in Blog Minutia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

