There’s nothing like being sick…

One of the most frustrating things about being a schizophrenic is that everything and mean EVERYTHING affects your illness. Too much coffee? Too little coffee? Forgot to eat? Didn’t sleep well enough? Something upsetting happened?

Of course, one thing that can cause massive disruption to everything is to get some sort of physical illness. Now part of it has been exacerbated by stress, but I haven’t been able to quite shake it for a week. It has of course disrupted the routine, which naturally has me disoriented. And of course, my obsessive-compulsive personality absolutely doesn’t help because it is very hard for me to just stop and rest, which is exactly what I need.

It’s just a cold, with an extremely unpleasant cough. But it wakes me up in the night. Disrupts my sleep. Combined with a very stressful last couple of weeks and I haven’t been eating as well as I should.

So it affects my mood, and affects my ability to think clearly. I wish it didn’t, but then I guess wishing it didn’t is kind of pointless.

At least it is the end of term. At least I have no school work to do and only one more class on Monday. I made it through the term. I even did all my TAing, which I wasn’t sure I could do. (I’ll probably have to do a full wrap up of the term soon, even though I write my exam and present in May, which I am not exactly pleased about).

Anyways, the good news is that I am eating better (which is good, given that it is almost time to feast on the chocolate chicken embryos that the Rabbit God, in his fury, provides). I am starting to feel better, though I wish I would sleep a bit better.

I’ll get through it though, and I really shouldn’t complain. Compared to a full relapse this is nothing.

 

 

 

About Neil

I happen to have paranoid schizophrenia. But that is only a small part of who I am. I define me, not my illness. I always try and choose hope and choose to be a better person, though like all people, I have more than a few failures. Some have been rather spectacular.
This entry was posted in The Struggles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There’s nothing like being sick…

  1. Aimer Shama says:

    Hang in there Neil.

  2. Urgh coughs are awful….I think it’s the fact that anything can disrupt an unstable sleeping pattern…and I think a great deal of the symptoms that schizophrenics deal with are unmanageable without a good nights rest. Feel better!
    You’ll be fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

