More that just a schizophrenic

I use the phrase “happens to be a schizophrenic” a lot. That’s because that’s how I see me. A person who has to deal with something else that 99% of the Canadian population doesn’t. I refuse to let my illness be the beginning and end of me.

A big problem with the perception of mental illness is that it is seen as something that defines a person, rather than just something that massively complicated that person’s life. That’s why I want to spend some time talking about me, because while I believe I have a lot to offer in the conversation that needs to be had on mental illness, that is not all I can offer the world. However, I feel strong that the conversation is very much served by being able to change the paradigm from “people who are mentally ill” to “people who have to deal with a mental illness.” I think, even though this blog is about the life of a schizophrenic, that it may help to see how rich that life really is.

To start: My favourite colour is red. I have liked it since I was a toddler (or perhaps even earlier but that is how far back my memories go). I enjoy the colour because I can brag how it represents love, war and communism. I find it representative of my strong will and mischief-making ways.

I love to read. I have a library. I have finally started buying ebooks because I simply have run out of closet space. One of the major bad things about school is that it forces most of my reading to be academic peer-reviewed papers, which while I actually do enjoy reading academic journals, is limiting.

I like silly things. I hate behaving a certain way just because it is expected. I think that being nice is a very important life skill. By nice I mean you do something nice for someone at random for the sake of doing a nice thing (and not because you want something).

I love making people’s day. I bring the gift of random chocolate to people. Or random Tea.

That ain’t even 0.00001% of me. And all of me, including the part of me that happens to be schizophrenic, must all be part of the conversation.

About Neil

I happen to have paranoid schizophrenia. But that is only a small part of who I am. I define me, not my illness. I always try and choose hope and choose to be a better person, though like all people, I have more than a few failures. Some have been rather spectacular.
This entry was posted in Neil the Person and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More that just a schizophrenic

  1. waywardweed says:

    Sounds like you are doing well. I am very familiar with schizophrenia and understand the journey, along with the inevitable tangents–successes and challenges. Best of luck.

  2. Jessica says:

    Or random hot chocolate 😉

Leave a Reply

