Coffee

Morning Favourite

Like many adults, I am quite likely addicted to caffeine in the morning. The first thing I do when I get up every morning is make coffee and then pour myself a cup. When you have drugs whose side effects make me as tired as they do, you need every little jolt that can help.

Of course, just like everyone, I have to watch exactly how much coffee I drink or face consequences. Unlike most people though, I watch it like a hawk because of those consequences.

Too  much coffee of course makes one jittery and nervous. When you are a paranoid schizophrenic those feelings at least seem multiplied. My mind races and bounces around enough without chemicals making things worse.

While that’s unpleasant, the real danger is drinking too much caffeine too late in the day. That can lead to sleepless nights, which can really affect my next day.

The thing I learned though in dealing with this illness for so long, is that you can manage such things. I drink coffee to help me get going in the morning, but I don’t usually drink caffeine past noon unless in an emergency I need to force myself awake. Even in the latter case, I try to avoid it because it may lead to a bad day the next day.

It’s about developing coping mechanisms that work for me and being aware of myself and the consequences of my actions.

About Neil

I happen to have paranoid schizophrenia. But that is only a small part of who I am. I define me, not my illness. I always try and choose hope and choose to be a better person, though like all people, I have more than a few failures. Some have been rather spectacular.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

