Excercise

It was a balmy 12° C on Sunday (and a beautiful 17° C  yesterday), so I decided to get my bike out and go for a nice 20 km ride. Just like any person, it’s a good idea if I exercise. Considering that a side effect of one of my medications is weight gain, it makes such a thing all the more pressing.

I am a person, but I happen to be a schizophrenic. Everything I do can potentially impact my health. That includes, more than a little ironically, exercise.

You want to exercise to promote both physical and yes mental health. It can help reduce stress as well as help with a positive attitude toward life.

Where I have to be careful is that it does tire me. As well, the physical exertion puts strain on my mental concentration. The end result is that too much exercise can leave me confused or very tired.

So I have to be careful. Hopefully not obsessively compulsive careful. I also prefer to engage in exercise which is non competitive and fairly solitary. That way if I do get a bit “off,” I don’t have the added stress of a social encounter.

But just like everyone, I have goals for self improvement and to be healthy. I do my best. I just can’t use exercise to escape my illness like I can a stressful day.

About Neil

I happen to have paranoid schizophrenia. But that is only a small part of who I am. I define me, not my illness. I always try and choose hope and choose to be a better person, though like all people, I have more than a few failures. Some have been rather spectacular.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

